Thursday, February 14, 2013

Valentine's Day Rules Quiz....Umpire Interference.

Runner on 1st, the pitch gets by the catcher, hits the umpire's mask and bounces down the 1st base line. Before the defense can react, the runner goes all the way to 3rd base. The umpire rules that "umpire's interference" has occurred because he deflected the ball away from the catcher, and he directs the the runner to return to first base.

Is this correct?


1 comment:

  1. No! Rule - 2.00 INTERFERENCE

    Umpire's interference only occurs in two specific situations:

    When an umpire hinders, impedes or prevents a catcher's throw attempting to prevent a stolen base.

    When a fair ball touches an umpire on fair territory before passing a fielder.

    Other than these two cases, the umpire is treated as if he or she is part of the playing field. Thus, this is a live ball, and the runner's advance was legal.

    ReplyDelete